The peaceful easy feeling of Jack Tempchin

December 24, 2016 | Goldmine

By Warren Kurtz

Tempchin is the name record buyers first saw in parenthesis between the bold type, capitalized lettering of “PEACEFUL EASY FEELING” and EAGLES, as the songwriter of the third Top 40 Asylum single from the group’s self-titled debut album, released in 1972. Two years later, Eagles fans saw his name again as the co-writer of “Already Gone,” the first of three singles from the group’s eclectic third album “On the Border,” and later covered by Wilson Phillips.

As a songwriter, he achieved his first Top 10 gold single with Johnny Rivers’ “Swayin’ to the Music (Slow Dancin’),” a song he recorded with his mid-‘70s band, the Funky Kings, on Arista. On his Arista 1978 self-titled debut album, with the fun single “Fifteen Days Under the Hood,” the flip side also included his version of “Peaceful Easy Feeling,” joined vocally by Jennifer Warnes. In the ‘80s, during Eagle Glenn Frey’s solo years, Jack Tempchin was his co-writer on six of his Top 40 singles and most of the album cuts. Now, he has released the CD “One More Song” on the Blue Elan label, which he discussed with Goldmine, in addition to his other compositions over the decades.

Read the full interview here: